Skip to content

2012 Albums of the Year: 35-26

December 16, 2012

Continuing the countdown.

 

35. Santigold – Master of My Make-Believe

35

Pitchfork: 6.9/10

Metacritic: 74/100

 

34. Iamamiwhoami – Kin

34

Pitchfork: 7.6/10

Metacritic: 74/100

 

33. John Talabot – Fin

33

Pitchfork: 8.5/10

Metacritic: 80/100

 

32. Mac Demarco – 2

34

Pitchfork: 8.2/10

Metacritic: 80/100

 

31. The Avett Brothers – The Carpenter

31

Pitchfork: 6.5/10

Metacritic: 70/100

 

30. Killer Mike – R.A.P. Music

30

Pitchfork: 8.6/10

Metacritic: 85/100

 

29. Alabama Shakes – Boys & Girls

29

Pitchfork: 7.8/10

Metacritic: 76/100

 

28. M. Ward – A Wasteland Companion

28

Pitchfork: 6.3/10

Metacritic: 75/100

 

27. Perfume Genius – Put Your Back N 2 It

27

Pitchfork: 8.4/10

Metacritic: 81/100

 

26. Grimes – Visions

26

Pitchfork: 8.5/10

Metacritic: 80/100

 

Analysis

Average Pitchfork Score: 7.7/10

Average Metacritic Score: 76/100

A slightly lower Pitchfork score and exactly the same Metacritic score as the first 10. It seems that these albums should collectively rate higher among critics but I think we’re seeing the result of what I discussed last time, where I wasn’t crazy about a few particularly high-rated albums.

An interesting trend I noticed while compiling this segment of the list is that it seems to consist of albums I actually liked a good bit but only listened to within the last few weeks (2KinMaster of My Make-Believe). These are albums that I think would have risen on the list if I had gotten the chance to first hear them a few months ago.

Additionally, there are a few albums here that I listened to a long time ago and regrettably have sort of fallen off my play-queue in recent months (Put Your Back N 2 ItBoys & Girls, Visionsfin, A Wasteland Companion). These albums suffer from the exact opposite circumstances as the last category. I enjoyed them a lot around the times of their release but my lack of repeated listens has negatively impacted their spots on this list. I can’t decide if The Carpenter falls into this category or not, but I think its ranking could also come from it just being far from my favorite Avett record.

From → Original Content

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Patently-O

I made a blog.

Blawgletter®

I made a blog.

The IP Law Blog

I made a blog.

taken by sound.

New music reviews and interviews from a music nerd, finding, reviewing and interviewing the best new and undiscovered music that Earth has to offer.

I made a blog.

SCOTUSblog

I made a blog.

